8 Pictures of Kerry Fisher’s Début THE SCHOOL GATE SURVIVAL GUIDE Going from Paper Roll to Publication

To celebrate the publication of Kerry Fisher’s brilliant new novel THE SCHOOL GATE SURVIVAL GUIDE Clare Wallace took a trip with editor, Helen Bolton, the author’s father and the author herself to Clay’s Ltd in Suffolk to see the paperbacks coming to life.

Ever wanted to see how a book is actually made? Here are 8 pictures that show just that.

1. These fat rolls of paper will soon turn into Kerry’s début novel
1. Once upon a time...

2. First, the words are printed onto the reams of paper
2. The very first printed pages

3. Here the freshly printed covers wait on the pallet to receive their pages
3. Covers waiting on their pallet for pages

4. The books are printed out in pairs, still attached end to end…
4. Cleverly printed in pairs

5. … and chopped down the middle to make two separate books
5. Here they come...

6. Here come the freshly baked books straight out of the press
6. Freshly baked books straight out of the oven

7. One very proud dad hugs his newly published daughter as the books journey on behind
7. One very proud father as the books journey on behind

8. And the whole happy team hold up the finished copies
8. The whole happy team

So now you know how it’s done.

After the eye-opening trip Kerry Fisher said, “Watching 
THE SCHOOL GATE SURVIVAL GUIDE coming off the presses was very special indeed. Everywhere I looked there were little red books zooming round the factory in various stages of completion.

“It really was that ‘WOW’ moment, when getting published suddenly felt so real. I was also very privileged that I was able to take my dad with me – he loved it and so did I.”

81ek+Rtfg9L._SL1500_

THE SCHOOL GATE SURVIVAL GUIDE, a hilarious, straight-talking read for fans of Fiona Neill and Gill Hornby’s The Hive, is out today!

Visit Kerry Fisher’s website and follow her on twitter for further updates.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Darley Anderson Authors, Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 8 Pictures of Kerry Fisher’s Début THE SCHOOL GATE SURVIVAL GUIDE Going from Paper Roll to Publication

  1. Fascinating to see how it begins and where it ends! My dad did this for job for a few years, he used to talk quite excitedly about seeing the finished product having come from those giant rolls of paper. Must be even more exciting for the author! Thanks for the links, good writer! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s